Skip to main content

2023 Kurrung Sports Carnival wrap up

14 September 2023

The 2023 Kurrung Sports Carnival took over Jabiru on 1 and 2 September in what was a spectacular display of football and basketball.
West Arnhem Regional Council is the proud host of the regional sports carnival which brings men’s and women’s sports teams from Jabiru, Minjilang, Maningrida, Warruwi, Gunbalanya and as far as Katherine together. 
Through Kurrung, Council is able to continue to contribute to building stronger communities in the West Arnhem region.
The event program was huge this year, incorporating men’s and women’s basketball, men’s AFL and there was an opportunity for women’s to come and try AFL 9s. The carnival also welcomed ABC Territory Grand Stand radio and Charlie King who broadcasted live from the event. It was great to have the team there broadcasting and interviewing people involved in the carnival. Hockey NT also attended the carnival and facilitated some hockey activities for the younger kids.
The carnival also featured the second ever ‘Spirit of Kurrung’ cup, supported by the No More campaign, which was awarded to the community which displayed the values of the carnival including; sportsmanship, respect,inclusion and fair play. 
The proud community which received this award was Warruwi.

For the first time, there was also manyardi/kunborrk traditional dancing to end the carnival and this was wonderful to watch. Thank you to those who took part.
There was a lot of close competition in all of the results which demonstrates the level of talent in the region.
The men’s basketball saw Maningrida and Warruwi fight it out under the JSSC basketball lights with their supporters cheering them on court sides. In the women’s basketball, it was a battle of the islands with Warruwi and Minjilang vying for the top place. And in the men’s AFL, it was a repeat of the 2022 carnival with Jabiru and Gunbalanya both reaching the grand finals once again. 

West Arnhem Regional Council wishes to thank everyone involved in the event including participants, Council staff and the volunteers. Thank you also to the sponsors:
Northern Territory Government, ERA, KWAST, Cricket and Football Shop, No More campaign, Blueridge Engineering, Aurora Kakadu Lodge, ABC Radio, ALPA, Red Lily, Kakadu National Park, Stedman’s Constructions, Gunbalanya Sports and Social Club, Ajurumu Store, Maningrida AFL League, BAC, MPA, Nja-Marleya, Dhukurrdji Lodge, Ajurumu School, Caulfield Grammar, Djidbiddjidbidi College, Kakadu Tourism, 1300 Yarn, No More campaign, GAC rangers, C&R Constructions, Jabiru Bombers, Jabiru Area School.


Men’s Basketball Winners: Maningrida (10)

Men’s Basketball Runners Up: Warruwi (8)

Men’s Basketball MVP: Brenton Gwadbu (Warruwi)

Women’s Basketball Winners: Minjilang (28)

Women’s Basketball Runners up: Warruwi (12)
Women’s Basketball MVP: Sophia Lee (Minjilang)

Men’s AFL Winners: Jabiru Bombers (2.1.13)  

Men’s AFL Runners Up: Gunbalanya (1.2 8)

Men’s AFL MVP: Tyrese Raymond (Garrack Bombers)

‘Spirit of Kurrung’ Cup: Warruwi